The Archangel PR [business] Blog

Building. Forward.

The Greater Ambition…

with 2 comments

I know 2 things about who I am:

1.) I am not special or exceptionally talented in any way.
2.) I absolutely hate a mundane existence.

For the past 3 years or so, I have been swept up in a burning desire to see my life count for something more than a 9-to-5 desk job at XYZ Corporation. I’m not alone in my feelings nor am I a trailblazer in this particular manner of thinking.

I do not want riches. Let me clarify: I want to live well, and have a high quality of life, but I’m not looking to buy a Rolls Royce or a Summer home in the Hamptons. I could care less about these things.

It means much more to me to be able to take my children to school in the morning and pick them up every afternoon. It means much more to me to not dread Mondays or hate the fact that my life is passing away with every tick of the clock.

This thought led me to desire change. Real change. A “You-wont-recognize-me-tomorrow” kind of change.

I picked up every book I could find on the subject. Really. I’ve read most of them. These books are filled with stories on how a middle-America housewife needed to supplement her family’s income because her husband’s hours got cut at work. So she started a blog about her ordeal and three best-selling books later she’s telling other middle-American housewives how they too can break free from the cycle and once again own their destinies.

I’ve also encountered books where the authors “know” how scary it is to walk away from high paying jobs to start that ice cream shop in the middle of the Bronx only to see it crash and burn horribly. Yet, through an off-chance meeting with a corporate CEO over chocolate pistachio dreamy double fudge ice cream, they now sit on a cushy corporate consulting job, working 4 hours a month, raking in a six-figure income.

It’s hard to convey in the harsh world of black, Times New Roman 12 point text on a webpage, but I’m really happy that people make it to these astounding heights. If you were to check my Google history, you’ll see link after link about “rags to riches” and “entrepreneurs who have made it” in the search bar.

The only problem I’ve encountered is the biggest problem I’ve encountered: how do I get this to work for me?

I’m not highly educated. I never attended Harvard, Yale, John Hopkins, MIT, Stanford, Brown, Colgate, William & Mary, Cambridge, Florida, Baylor, or the University of Texas. I attended Lamar University in Beaumont, Texas. At least for a few years. And I didn’t make exceptional grades either. I left there for a career in broadcast media.

The career in media led me to be a part-time small business owner of a boutique (i.e. small) PR company.

I have never made six-figures for anything. I may owe six-figures in debt. I doubt it, but I may. Who knows.

I don’t have any high ranking contacts or connections that I know of. I once spoke on the phone with Sarah Jessica Parker… does that count? Probably not.

So the question remains: how do I make this work for me?

How do I get to a point that I don’t need a 9-to-5 to live well, pay my bills, and still see my family and friends and do what I want to do, whenever I want to do it?

The best thought I can come up with: I’m not sure. I guess I need a “foot in the door”, only I’m not sure what amazing skill I may possess that I could place in front of said door without it slamming shut in my face.

All of these things sound like excuses to the masses and in a lot of ways they are. I’m a realistic optimist. I believe these great things can happen, but how can I get to my nice office where I set my own rules and rates, when I don’t have a car because it was repossessed by the bank for missing payments.

How can I tuck my kids into beds that don’t exist because my house is no longer my house.

My mortgage company doesn’t care about my hopes and dreams.

So the real question isn’t “how does this work for me”, the real question is how do I turn these “hopes and dreams” into cold, hard cash?

Written by Jeremy Long

March 22, 2010 at 8:58 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When you discover how its done, share the knowledge, without a price tag, I’ve been trying to apply it to my situation for over 25 years now, and if you don’t have money to start with then you dont get started. I can only think that maybe I ws applying it to the wrong type of situation, maybe a different career it would work better.

    Joseph

    March 22, 2010 at 2:34 PM

    • In my own walk, I’ve had to learn the difference between a “need” and a “want” when it comes to business decisions i.e. “I want a new job, but I need to pay my bills.”

      It definitely requires more than the “Positive Thinking” that the gurus and experts are selling to the public.


Leave a Reply

